Amulet

My heart is made of fire
Pushing flames to the tips of my fingers and the edge of my lips.

Reminding you of all the times we
Had nothing left to burn.

I keep time in my back pocket
Reminding me to never look back
Pushing me always in forward circles.

My body holds all the power
I will ever need.
The magic is in the way
You move with me.

Hold my fiery fingertips
Lick the flames from my lips.
Cradle my charred heart

Memories fall like cinders
Waiting to catch again.
The burning keeps me alive.

A flamethrower’s lungs
Breathing harder and hotter
As you move with me.

Leave a Reply

