ChainMail

Our love isA chain-

Mail petti-

Coat. 
I put it on

Calling myself

A warrior. 
 I blamed you

When it was

Cold and heavy and

Pulling at my soft
I didn’t know yet

How soft

 I was Becoming. 
It took years

To pull it off

All the protection

Disarming from battle

Scars still showing. 
I found a new battle ground

Became the captain and the nurse

Calling all the shots

And administering them, too. 
I wore your worry

a toddler’s teddy 

bear Held and 

discarded A comfortable

Convenience you

Would certainly outgrow

Leave a Reply

