Daughter

If I ever have a daughter
 I will name her grace
Because everyone needs
More of that in their lives 

If I ever have a daughter
I will show her that the 
Length of kindness 
Is the inverse of distance

If I ever have a daughter 
I will teach her that voices
Were always meant to 
Be strength and numbers
Don’t matter when we tip the scales

If I ever have a daughter 
I hope she believes that
Love is the magic glue
That holds people together

If I ever have a daughter
I will tell her that the stars 
Hold secrets, and she never should
Because she holds power in her tiny hands and heart. 

If I ever have a daughter 
I will listen to the music 
Of the rhythmic beating of her 
first heart break season. 

If I ever have a daughter 
I will name her grace

And that will be the only 
weight she carries 

propelling her forward. 

Leave a Reply

